Running a 7 segment display with a single decimal input

subway5411

Joined Jul 28, 2016
Hello, I'm new to this whole microprocessor thing, and I am trying to run a 7 segment display through a decimal. (0-9) I have this selector switch thing that will allow you to choose a number / output from 0-9, and I want the LED display to respond to that. I kinda looked this up online and what I found could work was to use a Decimal to BCD encoder, then a BCD to 7 segment decoder. This runs off of 3.3v with each display having 7 200 ohm resistors. I am also using a common anode display. Could someone let me know what I need to do this?

Thanks!

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
A picture of your selector switch would be helpful...
Since you're using 3.3V, the 7-segment decoder has to be in CMOS chip like 4511/4513/4543.

Allen

subway5411

Joined Jul 28, 2016
What I am trying to do is get a number from a single push button. Ex, Pressing 0, will display 0, and so on. I have this keypad from 0-9 out of an old nixie box that i'm trying to hook up to an LED display. They are just simple chained push button switches.

Here is the selector: (One row goes to one display)

Here is the unfinished LED Board, which has 7 digits: (For each row of 0-9 on selector)

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010
How was the wiring at the back of the buttons? Are they wired like a matrix, or each button contributes one wire with a common wire for all the 10 buttons?

It looks like each button has more than 2 contacts.

Allen

subway5411

Joined Jul 28, 2016
How was the wiring at the back of the buttons? Are they wired like a matrix, or each button contributes one wire with a common wire for all the 10 buttons?

It looks like each button has more than 2 contacts.

Allen
The buttons are not wired in a matrix. Yes there is a big common for all 10 buttons in a row. Is there a way to wire these buttons in a BCD array? If so how? Or is there a 10 to BCD converter I can use? These are common anode.

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010