RS232 to Breadboard? (Crystal Trackball)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by IowanChef, Mar 17, 2010.

1. IowanChef

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 6, 2010
    So, I saw one of these Crystal Trackballs at a thrift store the other day, and it was already cheap at $2, but me being the sucker for clear things with LEDs in them that I am, I grabbed it. It's a trackball mouse with a 9 pin D-sub style connector that I have absolutely no use for, so I cut the end off and marked the connections on the cables to the pins of the socket. I've got red, orange, yellow, green, and purple. What I'm wondering, and keep in mind I'm fairly new to all of this (dabbling for a few months now, quite deliberately), is might there be a way to plug these wires into a breadboard and use this attractive tool for other means? Aside from requests for software downloads and ways of hacking them into a vintage video game controller, I can't really seem to find much regarding hacking or modding this thing.

Ultimately, I'm looking for something that doesn't involve a microcontroller or an Arduino. While I have both (not comfortable with them just yet), I would prefer to start at the very bottom and figure out what I can expect regarding output from each cable after supplying voltage to the proper ones. Tracing them on the board is fairly tricky and I'm not 100 percent positive (wakka) that red is positive and what, green or purple for ground?

Any and all input appreciated. Got to love this site.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers.

2. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
    IowanChef likes this.
  3. IowanChef

Mar 6, 2010