Robotic Arm Project with stepper motors

ekw

Joined Dec 3, 2009
Hello first time poster,

I am a student building a robotic arm but I am having difficulties with these motors my partner bought.

http://www.kelinginc.net/KL23H256-21-8B.pdf

I told him to get something that can handle around 2-3 lbs load, and he went off to buy two of these on impulse. They are quite heavy (1.5 lbs each) and required a redesign of the original arm.

I'm new to stepper motors and I have no idea how to meet the current requirements to even operate the motor. I was thinking of using a power transistor and have my PIC16F887 to control it, but then again there lies a problem with how to find a battery to output that many amps? Is there a better motor for this application out there?

I just want to make sure I'm heading in the right direction before we waste more money on things we would need more money to use! Any help/advice will be greatly appreciated.

russ_hensel

Joined Jan 11, 2009
The easiest way is to connect as a unipolar motor, use low side switches, perhaps logic level mosfets to drive the motor, the PIC should be able to drive them directly. I would probably use a 5 volt drive. The current needs to be limited to 2.1 amp, by a series resistor or perhaps pwm. This is just a broad outline, and there are other approaches.

There are also driver circuits for motors.

In any case read the spec. sheet to make sure 5 volt drive ( assuming your are using a 5 v uC ) is enough and that the current rating is not exceeded.

Find out what snubber diodes are and make sure they are in place.

ekw

Joined Dec 3, 2009
Thankyou for your response.

It caused a chain of thinking that lead me to a better understanding!

I think i know what to do now,

thanks again

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Keep in mind that for maximum torque, you will need to wire them as bipolar.

If wired as unipolar steppers, they will only have 127 oz-in holding torque.