Robot Project , utilizing different resources

Zarkopafilis

Joined Nov 17, 2013
Hello everybody , I am a C++/Assembly developer . Me and another guy near my house decided to start a project. We will make a robot and program it to do various stuff. We have already messed around wiht arduino but what it can do it very limited. Due to the fact that we cant find/build a custom PCB to control something big , we will stick with arduino and patents (e.g. cutting usb cables and connecting it with leds etc.)
I have a great variety of cables and tools. The fact that concerns me is voltage and amps. I cant remember what I was taught in high-school so I decided to ask the community here! After we end up having the code ready and be able to control everything , we will need to mess around with current to do misc stuff.
We will be testing the patents with batteries at first and then connect it to the main robot that will make everything work -hopefully!-
So , my question(s) are : What should we use?(arduino or ...?)
Please provide me with enough information.
If we end up using something like arduino , which would be the best option to retreive power from? USB , Ethernet(I dont even know if we can reverse what PoE does...) or ...?
What I think we will be using:
-Leds
-Motors
-Other stuff that make it look cool?xD
-Wifi antenna (Its something that we want to do when the project is finished, control it from a pc at first and then with a portable device , I know the whole idea is big but if we get this together , It would be really cool!)
Thanks it advance
~Zarkopafilis , Victor Ks (The team!)

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
We will be testing the patents with batteries at first...
Huh? A patent is a legal document filed with the patent office. Not sure how you test it with a battery. :confused:

If there is a question in your post I think it is: How do I control power components (lights, motors) with data-level (low current) signals? Is that right?