Rigol Oscilloscope - decent?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by JMac3108, May 28, 2016.

1. JMac3108

Thread Starter Active Member

Aug 16, 2010
    I'm looking for a home oscilloscope and am considering a Rigol. I can get a 2-channel 100MHz version for under $400. Anyone have one and can comment on their usability, reliability, features, etc?

I'm not looking for recommendations to get an analog scope. I'm an EE designer by day and made the switch to digital scopes in the 90's and have never looked back. I've always used high-quality Tektronix digital scopes at work, but I'm not ready to spend that much for home use. How would the Rigol compare? Thanks!

2. KL7AJ

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 4, 2008
    I've gotten the chance to kick the tires of Rigol instruments during the past few Dayton Hamventions, and they are fine instruments.

3. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
  4. JMac3108

Aug 16, 2010
    I read the specs and there are a couple things I'm not sure of ...

Can I save a waveform on a USB stick and if so, what is the format ... jpg, bmp?

Will it perform a single acquisition sequence like my Tektronix? In other words, I can set it to trigger once, on a non-repetitive waveform?

5. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
    You never said which model it is.

6. JohnInTX

Jun 26, 2012