Will it work?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

jss10

Joined Jul 13, 2015
I work in the broadcasting industry and am constantly looking for better ways of doing things. Right now we have 3 500 FT reels to roll out for the broadcasts to carry the video signals from the cameras and the intercom for the headsets to our production trailer. This works well and all but 10 ft of this cable weights about 30 lbs and it would be much easier just to use Cat5.

In this project of mine I'm going to try and fit RGB (Component) video and 2 XLR signals down one Cat5 cable using a breakout box on each end. Is it possible to passively send this down one cable without melting the cable or corrupting the video signal?

Here's how I see it: A cat5 cable has 4 twisted pairs for a total of 8 wires. I would use 3 of the wires for the component signal, 2 for one XLR, 2 for the other XLR, and use the last wire as a ground. Will this work? Can I have all of these cables use the same ground or will it cause too much interference?

Please point out anything that could go wrong or won't work.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
There is a reason why the pairs of wires are twisted and your use of them defeats that purpose. 500 ft. of Cat5 will greatly attenuate the video signal to the point where there might be nothing left. Sounds like a really inferior plan. That said, if you want to run the experiment -- who am I to dissuade you.

The XLR (audio) signals may be OK since they are differential and don't require a separate ground, but the standard 3-pin connector uses the third pin for a cable(chassis) ground. This would not be available in your Cat5 scheme. Also XLR connectors are designed to carry power to loaudspeakers, up to 15 Amps if I recall correctly. This might be a problem for for the 24-26 AWG wire in Cat5 cable.

Last edited:

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013