RF Transmission in Remote Areas (Multiple Transmitters, one Receiver)

Chris Walker

Joined Feb 5, 2015
Hi all!

I have a project that requires measuring temperatures at remote areas around a farm. I have already designed the sensing section of the project. There will need to be ten sensing modules around the farm all transmitting to one receiver unit. The sensing circuit when triggered will output an AC voltage which can be interpreted for the temperature.

The trouble I am having is with the transmission. I am new to RF design so PLEASE help. I need a way of transmitting and reproducing the voltage signal from each sensor at the receiver to then process and output the temperature. Key points to consider:

• Each sensor module will need a individual ID
  • Transmission will need to be around 200 metres.
  • Transmissions need not be simultaneous.
  • Possibly incorporating a repeating unit to forward on signals to the receiver would be a good idea. This way sensors could be located further away from the receiver by creating a network of sensor modules.
  • Power consumption should be reasonably low as these will need to be battery powered though size is not a big factor.
Here's a link to the sort of thing I am looking for:

http://www.cdt21.com/parts/files/press/PR00204.pdf

Specific part names would be greatly appreciated.

Additionally the voltage signal could be evaluated at the sensor module if this was easier. However in an attempt to lower power consumption I aimed to do all of the processing at the receiver.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Cheers

Chris

Chris Walker

Joined Feb 5, 2015
What's wrong with the one in your reference?
Hi Crutschow,