Rf power measurement of motorola gp328

Discussion in 'Wireless & RF Design' started by sumitdby, Apr 9, 2013.

1. sumitdby

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 1, 2012
    donno whether i m posting on write forum or not but here it is.
    what i am trying to do is i m measuring Transmitting power of RF signal from the device MOTOROLA GP328

well i have no experience in working with rf signals and there power measurement i need to calculate the same using atmega8
    which i m planing to read the voltage on adc pins and then calculate the power

i m following the links that i got first while browsing how to calculate RF signals power

help plzz need to do this asap.....
  2. paulktreg

Distinguished Member

Jun 2, 2008
    Are the figures given in the specification not accurate enough?

Power output 5W - 136 - 174 MHz, 4W - 403 - 470 MHz, 450 - 527 MHz

It's not easy measuring RF power even for somebody with intermediate electronics know how.
  3. YokoTsuno

Jan 1, 2013
    This is indeed not that easy.

It requires an RF power meter like the HP/Agilent 432 or 436, R&S NRP series with thermal or diode sensor or equivalent instrument, or eventually a spectrum analyzer (Channel Power or zero span measurement). There are also thermal or diode sensors with USB interface which can be connected to a PC directly. A calibrated sensor from a reputable brand costs somewhere in between $3,000 and $10,000.

You also need a proper adaptor to connect the antenna output to a standard N/SMA type connector, these are often propriety connectors.

An additional problem might be the impedance. These sensors are typically 50 Ohms and the measured power is therefore in a 50 Ohms load. The radiation impedance of the antenna is generally different which means that the power going to the antenna does not necessarily correspond with the measurement. This is not necessarily a problem though if you only want to measure transmitter performance.