Reverse Polarity Circuit

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by TCA, May 22, 2011.

1. TCA

Thread Starter New Member

May 20, 2011
    Dear All, I'm very new to electronics and would really appreciate some help with a reverse polarity circuit for a salt water electrolysis unit. The electrolysis unit is low voltage 6 - 10 volts DC and has a variable current rating up to 30amps. What I would like is every time the unit switches on the polarity of the plates would be reversed, thus helping to keep the electrolysis plates clean. For example the unit would run for 12 hours with plate 'A' positive and plate 'B' negative, it would turn off for 12 hours (no power), then turn on again (via standard 240v timer switch turning mains power on and off) with plate 'A' negative and plate 'B' positive and so on. From a bit of google research I understand that I would need a flip-flop circuit (chip?) which changes it's state every time the power is turned on, and this chip? would activate the coil of a DPDT relay wired as a reversing switch??
    If any one could draw me a diagram with component list that would be great.
    Thank you all in advance for your help.

Last edited: May 22, 2011
  2. Kermit2

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 5, 2010
    Of course you realize that you will be creating Bleach water by using sodium chloride as an electrolyte. Sulfuric acid, or sodium hydroxide, or potassium hydroxide are the common electrolytes for creating oxygen and hydrogen from water. No Chlorine.

3. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    IIRC, chlorine and hydrogen gases are produced, leaving aqueous sodium hydroxide (NaOH), which is alkaline and caustic. When I experimented with this many years ago, I seem to remember that some NaOH (at least, I assumed it was NaOH) precipitated out.

4. Kermit2

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 5, 2010