reverse and forward motor control for AC motors

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Cristopher Tingcang, Jul 31, 2011.

1. Cristopher Tingcang

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 31, 2011
    Good day to all!!!

I am an electronics engineering student. i just want to ask if anyone here knows what is the best motor that i should use in my thesis. it is all about automated clothes line with rain and temperature sensor. I am not that sure how to incorporate or control the direction of the rotation of the motor. The load in the clothes line should be at least 100 lbs. i hope that somebody can help me about this.

Thank you!
    :)

Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  2. Cristopher Tingcang

Jul 31, 2011
    Good day!!!

I am an electronics engineering student. I am having a thesis right now. It is all about automated clothes line with rain and temperature sensor. Our professor suggested to us that the study should be improved more so we decided that the user can set the amount of time that the hung clothes should be exposed to the heat of the sun. I just to ask your suggestions of what timer should I used. I am planning to use countdown timer. Could it be good?...

Your suggestions will be very much appreciated.

Thank you!!!

3. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    Do you have to control the speed of the motor?

It's easier to control the rotation direction of an DC motor than of a three phase AC motor, especially if you need to control it's speed.

Also, what voltage do you want to work with?

Cristopher Tingcang likes this.
  4. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    You need to give us more information so we know how to incorporate a timer in your design.

Post some schematics etc.

5. Cristopher Tingcang

Jul 31, 2011
    Thank you for your suggestions!