Resonant - Tank Circuits

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by JDR04, Aug 10, 2012.

1. JDR04

Thread Starter Active Member

May 5, 2011
    I'm currently learning about resonant/tank circuits in my studies and would like to build a few practical circuits to measure out on my oscilloscope and check out behaviour etc. In other words being real curious:p

I'm told that I could very easily damage my oscilloscope due to high voltage spikes etc when using inductors. As I'm new to this, how would I go about protecting my oscilloscope from any damage and what other precautions should I take.

Your help will be appreciated - Thanks again JDR04

2. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    Inductors generate spikes if they are conducting current and and you suddenly try to interrupt the current flow, such as by removing one of the connections or opening a switch. That will generally generate a large voltage spike and arc at the point of disconnection since the inductance will cause try it's best to keep the current flowing. If you don't do that you should be OK.

3. JDR04

Thread Starter Active Member

May 5, 2011
    Thanks crutschow, so in short is there some sort of simple circuit I could build to protect my instruments, ie meter,scope etc from the voltage spike you mentioned or is it all way more complicated than I am understanding it? Thanks again JDR04

4. vk6zgo

Jul 21, 2012
    Unless you are trying to make LC circuits which are resonant at 50Hz & run them off the mains,or run high DC currents through high inductance iron or ferrite cored chokes,you are unlikely to see any spikes which can hurt your Oscilloscope!!:D

If,like most people,you are going to make up some LC resonant circuits,& feed them from a signal generator,they will not have DC currents flowing through them,so there will not be any stored energy if you open the circuit.

In any case,an LC circuit does not look reactive at resonance,but,rather,resistive.