Resonance in LRC circuit

Davrum

Joined May 14, 2015
I'm studying for an exam in a few days and trying to get my head around resonance. This is a question from last year's exam for the same paper.

What's throwing me is that from examples we've done before I expected to find a Q value of 50-100. Is the value I came up with lower than a "normal" Q value? I've done the question twice (once yesterday and against just now) and get the same thing. Are my methods on point or am I missing something?

mxg2579

Joined Jun 10, 2015
Edit: Sorry I made a comment then realized I glanced over one part.

Honestly, this work looks fine to me. Maybe someone else can help find a problem. So you say you expect a Q value of 50-100, is that what the answer should be? Or is that just an estimate you make?

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi,

You should probably show some of your work clearly so we can follow it.
I take it they want the Q as the circuit acts like a filter, with the output taken across C.
In this case, we should get a Q near 50 but i wont say what it is yet.

mxg2579

Joined Jun 10, 2015
The only thing I can think of that makes me second guess is where you have \(I=\frac{V}{R}\), should it not be \(I=\frac{V}{Z}\). Since you have a capacitance and an inductor it should be impedance. Maybe I'm wrong but that's all I can think of.

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi,

No need to be sorry. Maybe someone else was thinking the same thing and didnt realize that Z=R sometimes at resonance so by your post and replies they will have learned something too. So you actually did some people a favor by suggesting I=V/Z, and that's still true, it's just that Z=R sometimes. So i look at it as a benefit that you suggested that. This shows some of the beauty of conversation at work.