Resistor or Voltage Regulator to drop voltage and/or current?

jellytot

Joined May 20, 2014
I want to limit voltage (and current) to my load. Normally I use a voltage regulator (with 2 capacitors). But then I realized I can just use a resistor to drop the voltage (and subsequently, current). But then I thought, actually whats the difference between the two choices? Both drop voltage (and my load will draw less current because of it), and both solutions generate waste heat. Is there a difference? I'm still an electronics noob, so answers with a bit more detail would be greatly appreciated (because there's a greater chance I'll understand the answer that way).

Thanks!

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
I want to limit voltage (and current) to my load. Normally I use a voltage regulator (with 2 capacitors). But then I realized I can just use a resistor to drop the voltage (and subsequently, current). But then I thought, actually whats the difference between the two choices? Both drop voltage (and my load will draw less current because of it), and both solutions generate waste heat. Is there a difference? I'm still an electronics noob, so answers with a bit more detail would be greatly appreciated (because there's a greater chance I'll understand the answer that way).

Thanks!
If your load is constant and your power supply is constant (and regulated), then not much.

If your power supply is swinging all over the place or your load draws various amount of current, then yes, there is a difference. A resistor follows ohms law and will drop voltage equal to I x R. A voltage regulator outputs constant voltage.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
If the input voltage and load current aren't constant, you need voltage regulator with current limiting. Some regulator datasheets show how to implement current limit.

jellytot

Joined May 20, 2014
Thanks for the responses! They are great answers. :)