Resistive heating mystery

lasercowboy

Joined Oct 12, 2013
Dear all,

I am a complete novice with circuits (but enjoying the steep learning curve - chemist by training, so can handle the physics, but the practical aspects are new to me), so please be gentle and use short words ;)

I'm trying to make a device to heat a sample using ceramic resistors (a trick borrowed from the 3D printing fraternity). My setup is incredibly simple - 2x 10Ω, 5W resistors in series powered by a 12V, 1.5A 'switchmode plug pack' power supply. The idea being, when the power is on, the resistors will dissipate around 7.2W of heat (between them). They will only be used in short bursts, so they should be relatively happy?

The mystery is thus: when i turn the power on, nothing happens. I measure that there is 12V throughout the circuit, but no heating. However, if I use my multimeter as an ammeter (in series), the circuit functions as planned, and the resistors heat up.

Am I running into some problem with the power supply interpreting the low resistance as a short circuit and refusing to supply current? If so, why does the multimeter measuring amps correct for this?

Any and all advice would be very gratefully received!

many thanks,

Rico

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
What do you mean by "I measure that there is 12V throughout the circuit"?

Do you have different resistors that you can test with the power supply?
Something like a 100Ω resistor?

Maybe you have a faulty connection?

Can you post a photo of your setup?

lasercowboy

Joined Oct 12, 2013
Thanks for the fast response :)

Oh I just meant that using the multimeter in voltage mode, i measure 12V with one probe on the negative and one probe anywhere else in the circuit.

The picture is not great, but might help? The box is just to house the power jack and an on/off switch.

Attachments

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
With two resistors in series, there are only three nodes in the circuit.