resisters for LED's

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by lotusmoon, Jul 24, 2013.

1. lotusmoon

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2013
    Hi I am a beginner
    I am making an LED flasher of 55 LED's.
    there are 6 lines of 8 LED's and 1 line of 7 LED's.
    The start voltage will be 15 volts prior to the 555 chip and drop to about 13 volts by the time it leaves the 555 chip.
    I will be having a resistor before each line of LED's. I would like each LED to run at about 20MA, but am unsure what to put in the ohm's law equation as the voltage. Is it 13 volts, or the voltage drop of an LED, or the full voltage drop of the series of LED's, or the voltage leaving the LED's.?

2. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    You need to know the forward voltage rating of the LED's also.. (see their datasheet)

3. tshuck

Oct 18, 2012
    You aren't trying to power all these LEDs from the output if the 555, right? Perhaps you could post a schematic if what you are describing...

Your LEDs will be destroyed with 20 mega-amps through them, better stick to 20mA...;)

If you don't have the datasheet, you could forward bias the LEDs, and measure the voltage across them...

4. LDC3

Apr 27, 2013
    The resistance needed would be (roughly)
    R = (13V - 8 * LED voltage drop) / 20mA
    or
    R = (13V - 7 * LED voltage drop) / 20mA

With 140mA of current being supplies through the 555, it may get hot.

lotusmoon likes this.
  5. lotusmoon

Thread Starter Member

Jun 14, 2013
    Sorry there have been a few more replies since i started writing this -

There are different LEDS. the values I have been using to see how many i can have in series is - IF = 100 mA, tp = 20 ms VF typ some are 1.3v others 1.5 or 1.8. Should i take an average value of the line of LED's?
    below is a copy from the data sheet -
    BASIC CHARACTERISTICS -
    Forward voltage
    IF = 100 mA, tp = 20 ms VF typ - 1.5 max - 1.8 V
    IF = 1 A, tp = 100 µs VF 2.3

Forward voltage