Resister value help

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Gadersd, Dec 8, 2012.

1. Gadersd

Thread Starter Member

Dec 8, 2012
    Hi. I am very new to electronics so please have your answers simple. As of now my ultimate goal is to build a full adder. I first want to create a not or inverter logic gate. The picture of it is included in the post. In case you cannot figure out what the resister values are the one above the collector of the transistor is 290 ohms, the one right of that is 100 ohms, and the last one is 1k. The voltage is 9v. The transistor is a 2n2222 transistor so the ic max is 800 ma and the vceo is 40v. Is this the right way to do it and are the resistor values correct?
  2. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
  3. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    Whether your resistor values are good depends on your performance specifications. Assuming that you are going to build the basic gates, such as a NAND, and hook those up to create larger logic blocks, then you need to consider the I/O constraints. What this entails is looking at the inputs of your gates and determining how much current you need to sink or source in order to get the gate to do its job and also what voltage at the input that happens at. Be sure to give yourself some margin. Then you have to decide what your fanout is going to be, meaning how many inputs is a given output going to need to be able to drive? With that, you then size your output resistors to allow that to happen.

Another big factor would normally be sizing the resistors to meet speed and power considerations, but I'm guessing that you can tolerate pretty slow gates and can therefore choose pretty large resistors to keep the power consumption tame.