Researching the history/compatibility of 120v DC/AC utility power

DMahalko

Joined Oct 5, 2008
I guess I will put this in a new thread. Probably should be in Projects forum.

I'm a Wikipedia technology hobbyist. I have been researching the history of electric power for a couple of years, and I'm getting to know a fair bit about the history of 120v DC and 120v AC back when both were in use in 1880.

I'm a contributor to lots of technical articles that discuss the history of electricity:

The whole 120v "nominal" AC business appears to be to allow the people of 1880 to use 120v DC interchangeably with AC , which was the mainstream Edison power source originally. DC from lead acid batteries isn't 120v but up to 136-140v when charging. Haven't found a specific cite for that yet but it appears to be the reasoning for nominal AC...

I am looking for a high amperage (call it 16 amp, since that is the continuous rating for a standard 80% 20A circuit breaker) voltage stabilized 120v DC power source to test out modern device compatability with DC.

• Any modern resistive device will work fine with 120v DC, such as incandescent lamps, non-electronic coffee pots, resistive-heat kitchen stoves, cookers.

• Induction and synchronous motors will likely just burn up. Or they may just sit there and do nothing and survive 120v DC without damage. Dunno. Let's find out, shall we?

• Ballasted fluorescents are a mystery. If the starter can get a high-voltage spark off through the induction coil, it may be possible to sustain the arc at 120v DC, using the inductor as a resistor.