Research in electrical machines

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by NPN-1, Jun 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NPN-1

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 11, 2016
    Is research and development of new electrical machines almost dead, now that all types have been developed, or are new machines being developed as we speak?

2. jpanhalt

AAC Fanatic!

Jan 18, 2008
    Your prediction of the death of innovation is premature.

John

cmartinez, BobaMosfet and NPN-1 like this.
  3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Believe me, Just when you think there is nothing more to discover, there will always be someone thinking outside the box.
    Max.

4. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
    Probably the most exciting research frontier is high temperature super conductors. When I was an undergraduate the super conducting temperature was 4 K. (Four degrees above Absolute Zero). Today it is about 1.52 orders of magnitude higher:

mercury barium calcium copper oxide (HgBa2Ca2Cu3O8) at around 133 K. That is still pretty cold, but 1.52 orders of magnitude in 50 years ain't too shabby.

cmartinez likes this.
  5. ISB123

May 21, 2014
    You would have to explain to me what electronic machines are.

atferrari and wayneh like this.
  6. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Are you joking? What proof do you have that all types have been developed? I can think of several that would have a market but don't already exist.

7. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    Nah. There will always be scope for innovation.
    I bet they're busy developing the Mk2 version of the flux-capacitor overdrive as we speak ;).

Sinus23 likes this.
  8. NPN-1

Mar 11, 2016
    As far as I know, all types have been developed for both dc and ac (BLDC, induction, synchronous and the rest) and are optimized to the limit (with the exception of superconductors). By the way what are the types you said had a market but don't exist?

9. NPN-1

Mar 11, 2016