Request for advice for a custom project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mshlama, Sep 22, 2013.

1. mshlama

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 18, 2013
    Questions:
    1) What is the more appropriate processing power for this application: a computer, microcontroller, or other?
    2) a) if computer which software(language) would you recommend for this application?
    b) if microcontroller which one would you recommend for this application?
    This is the application -
    Input: device processes/recognizes audio input (such as a dog barking or someone shouting) - most likely with a microphone
    Process: the device then waits for the input to stop (even momentarily) i.e. the dog stops barking or the person shouting takes a breath) and then send a signal to begin the output
    Output: graphic to an LCD (any size) or play a pre-programmed audio file (i.e. mp3) most likely with a speaker
    About me: I'm a beginner to intermediate programmer with experience in C, Fortran and Java. I also have some exposure to microcontrollers through a Basic Stamp microcontroller. What I am most unsure about is how to deal with the audio/listening part of this application i.e. to listen for a specific sound and then recognize when it has stopped
    Thank you in advance if you decide to leave any comments/suggestions/advice.

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    So a dog goes, "Ruff, Ruff, Ruff," and you want to start the output after each "ruff"? After all, there is a momentary stop between each individual bark. Same thing with someone shouting -- there's a momentary silence between each word.

You need to define your specs a bit more fully.

3. mshlama

Sep 18, 2013
    Yes that is correct. Begin output as soon as the first ruff/shout is complete. Output should occur right at momentary stop, before the second ruff/shout.

Sorry for not defining the specifications more fully.

4. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012