Remote switching of central heating (internet)

Discussion in 'Computing and Networks' started by Schop, Nov 3, 2010.

1. Schop

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 3, 2010
    Heya, first time here.

I wish to remotely control a switch through the internet so that I can turn on the house's central heating before arriving. The actual connection to the thermostat is simply a switch so the question is how to control just that through the internet.

I figured a tiny embedded webserver, but it seems to me like an overkill for just a button ;) Any ideas? If not, can anyone recommend an easy to use embedded webserver? My experience with webdesign is zit, zero, nada, so I'd also need to know how to make the link from a webpage-button to a GPIO port on the board toggling or something similar...

I'm currently studying Electronic Engineering & Design so no need to explain the obvious, Tnx!

Schop.

Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  2. blueroomelectronics

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 22, 2007
    The XPort.
    They do make IP thermostats and it's a project I've had on and off the self for years.

3. Schop

Nov 3, 2010
    Soweet!

Love the little thing already, would be perfectly suitable. It's just that my wallet doesn't like it too much... Do you happen to know a similar device for under a few tenners?

Really appreciate it, I might just get myself an Xport someday anyway ;)

4. blueroomelectronics

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 22, 2007
    Not much is uber cheap when it comes to Embedded Ethernet. I'm sure you don't want to leave a PC running all day (cost more in electricity)

My project was based on the 18F67J60 (PIC with Ethernet) some relays, a couple opto inputs, RTCC, RS485 & RS232

5. Tesla176

Nov 3, 2010
    Have a look at IObridge http://www.iobridge.com/ Not cheap either but you can do some pretty amazing stuff for $100 USD

6. Schop

Nov 3, 2010
    It's starting to seem harder / more expensive than I anticipated...