relay project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by dthx, May 2, 2013.

1. dthx

Thread Starter Member

May 2, 2013
    Hello Gurus....
    Ive got a project.
    I want to actuate 10 (ten) 12VDC solenoids in random order.....that order being changeable.....AND ...
    I also want to vary the time that each solenoid is actuated AND vary the time in between each solenoid's activation.
    ex.
    Preset the solenoids firing sequence in random order (3,5,6,4,7,8,9,1,2,10).
    push button to start.....
    sol. # 3 energixes and stays energized for .....say.....5 secs.....
    sol #3 de-energizes.....
    ....a preset "in between" time passes....say ....3 sec.
    Then sol #5 energizes for a preset time and so on......
    1.) Is this going to be possible with a mechanical relay system....or do I need to get a microprocessor....which I know nothing about?
    2.) can I set the random order with a thumb switch of some kind....?
    I'm not a Newbie....but I'm not an EE either....

2. dthx

Thread Starter Member

May 2, 2013
    I think Im going to wire a toggle switch to each solenoid and just actuate them manually..waiting a few seconds before manually toggling the next one...
    ....And see if my pneumatics works.....
    That will give me a chance to build my prototype and do a little research on microprocessors....
    Does anyone know a good manufacturer of them in the USA?
    Dthx

3. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    A good manufacturer of what? solenoids or microprocessors?

dthx likes this.
  4. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Do they still have manufacturers in USA?

5. williamj

Sep 3, 2009
    dthx likes this.
  6. ScottWang

Aug 23, 2012
    If you can using uC that is better, but if you try to using the traditional way, I thought the ways similar as below.

NE555 Astable → CD4017 → 10 sections Rotary switch → Inverter+555 Monostable → 10 Bjts → 10 Relays → 10 solenoids