Relay Circuit with LED - Critique my schematic

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Phrazemaster, Dec 3, 2010.

1. Phrazemaster

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 3, 2010
    Hi folks, very pleased to have found you!

I'm building a microphone preamp, and I'm going to use a SPST switch to drive a relay and LED circuit for visual feedback that certain functions are engaged. I'm new at all this, so please bear with me.

I am posting a schematic here of my proposed circuit:

relay-circuit2.jpg

In question is the relay branch. The relay specs say it is a 12v relay with 1028R coil resistance and nominal operating current of 11.7ma. I'm assuming I have to drop the volatage 3v, although I could just run the relay at 15V. I'd like it to last a long time. Does this resistor take care of it? How do I go about choosing the coil protection diode (like what values?). I have heard 1N400x, but still being new this didn't do much for me. Do I have the coil protection diode facing correctly?

REally dumb question, I'm sure, but how can I be certain the relay only takes 11.7ma of current...I've got an electronics book on the way from amazon.

Does this circuit look viable? Any problems you can spot?

Thank-you. I know this is basic.

Last edited: Dec 3, 2010
  2. ashish19183

Sep 16, 2009
    Hi,

relay protection diode can be any flyback diode, it used to save connected device from back EMF

Regarding your current 11.7mA its coil current not not load current... means coil is connected with your input and switch is connected to your output, here coil current is given and switch current is different from this.

Main point why you are using relay to run LED ... LED have very low current o/p so you should go with Transistor based circuit which is easy, take less power and life is more than relay .....

3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008