Refining Square Sound Waves - RC Circuit / 555 timer

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by alexkymberly, Oct 17, 2016.

1. alexkymberly

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 17, 2016
    Hi everyone!
    I am a student (only year 11) currently studying Electronically Generated Sound and my class is building RC circuits with 555 timers to reach a desired frequency of 440 Hz. Currently, my circuit look like pictures attached. The duty cycle is 50% according to oscilloscope and the frequency is almost exact. However, the sound waves are square, as I understand they always are in Astable circuits. For extra credit we have to refine the square waves into more sine-like shape. Does anyone know what I have to add or subtract in my circuit in order to achieve this? Also, anyone can define a duty cycle is and state the importance of it in an RC circuit it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

2. DickCappels

Aug 21, 2008
    The difference between a sine wave at 440 Hz and a square wave at 440 Hz is that the sine wave is (ideally) only contains 440 Hz. The square wave has not only 440 Hz but also odd harmonics.

Does that information bring any particular solution to mind?

3. ci139

Jul 11, 2016
    the following is not a response to the poster but a critics to kind of question setup (and someone standing on my nerves here - totally irrelevant)
    so
    how to slope the comparator output ???
    ► the first and easy way is to rise the frequency to reach the proportion (resembling to sine wave)
    ►► the second and not so easy way is to manipulate your threshold and retrigger levels dynamically -- basically build a driver to mod 555 into something it is not (it's even possible to achieve a close match to a sine that way)

by combining/modding elements from :
    http://electronicscct.blogspot.com.ee/2011/11/555-timer-oscillator.html
    more http://www.birthofasynth.com/Thomas_Henry/Pages/X-4046.html