Reed switch Tachometer

cameroncuda

Joined May 20, 2009
Hi,

I am doing a project for university which required me to build a tachometer for a dc motor I built. I have so far set up a circuit with an LM2917 and LM3914 to LEDs. If I input a signal from a signal generator into the first pin of the LM2917, more LEDS light up for more frequency as it is suppose to be. I am now up to building the sensor for my motor. I have set up a reed switch however it pulses from 0volt to 3volt. I now think from the reading Ive been doing the 2917 needs a negative voltage as well like -1.5 to +1.5. I am using two 1.5V batteries for the reed switch so is there anyway to wire this like that or will I have to go with a different sensor. I am very new to this so sorry if some information is wrong. I tried doing the batteries like the attatched picture but dont know how to wire it to the reed switch.

Thanks

Attachments

cameroncuda

Joined May 20, 2009
Thanks for your reply.
Yeah I have a hall effect sensor and I also bought an opto coupler so I have almost every sensor I could think of and I am willing to set up whatever however I believe the same signal will come from all of these which is a 0V to whatever and I think the lm2917 needs - to + V. Is this right, if so can you get it from these sensors.

Thanks

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

The voltage needed for the lm2917 depends on the model. (see datasheet).
The 8 pin version has one input tied to ground.
The 14 pin both inputs are free, so you can set a detection level.

Greetings,
Bertus

Attachments

cameroncuda

Joined May 20, 2009
yeah I read that and from all the reading on these forums I know the 14 pin can accept a pulsed DC however how do you wire it like that.

KMoffett

Joined Dec 19, 2007