Reducing Solder Splatter

jellytot

Joined May 20, 2014
I'm still a beginner at soldering. It seems to be going... relatively well. But often, when I tin my soldering iron little drops of molten solder splatter and burn my hand. Is this common? I tried pulling more of the solder out so that my hand is farther out, but this makes it worse as it seems to catapult the solder farther. So is this normal? Anyone have any advice? I'm using 63/37 SN/PB, 0.813mm (0.032 inch) solder and a brand new 30W soldering iron.

jellytot

Joined May 20, 2014
I have never seen this happen. Is your soldering iron temperature controlled?
No, it`s a simple 30W soldering iron. Takes about 2 minutes for it to heat up. I don't see the solder splatter. But 1/3 of the time when I'm tinning the iron, I definitely feel it. It's like a hot needle.

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
Try using a different solder. The problem is usually related to the quality of the flux core and as previously mentioned, the temperature of the iron.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Something is very wrong. Thousands of people solder regularly and do not feel hot droplets!
Try a different solder. If that doesn't work, try a different iron. This is NOT normal!

tom_s

Joined Jun 27, 2014
may be solder that does not contain resin or; taking too long to actually solder and burning off all the resin.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
Are you sure that what is splattering off is actually solder? I have had similar experience with one brand of solder, but the splattering thing was the rosin from the core, definitely not the solder.

jellytot

Joined May 20, 2014
Are you sure that what is splattering off is actually solder? I have had similar experience with one brand of solder, but the splattering thing was the rosin from the core, definitely not the solder.
Thanks all for the responses. To address everyone's comments: