Rectifier Voltage

CVMichael

Joined Aug 3, 2007
I needed a rectifier for a new transformer I bought second hand. All I know is that it outputs 13.7 Volts. And I'm not very good at telling how many Amps it has by the size of it (~ 3 Inch each side), so I whould say that it is at least 2 Amps... but just in case, I want to use a rectifier that is more than 4 Amps...

I went to buy a rectifier to a local electronics store, and I basically had a choice between 4A 100V and 8A 400V.

Since I don't know the output Amps for the transformer, I want to use the 8A 400V rectifier.

But, is there a performance difference between the 100V and 400V when it will be used for only 13.7V ?

Also, if I use 2, 4 Amps rectifires in parallel, does that mean that together they are 8 Amps ?

Last edited:

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
No performance hit from higher than needed voltage rating in the diodes. Hint - it is often as cheap to buy 400 volt 35 amp bridges as several diodes rated at less current.

Paralleling rectifiers just means that one will get warmer than the other, hog current, die, and cause the other one to fail. Always get diodes with some extra current capacity.

jksgvb

Joined Aug 16, 2008
The higher-voltage rectifying diodes typically have a higher forward voltage drop than a low-voltage rectifier. If the forward voltage drop of the 400V rectifier is 1.3V, your DC output will drop about 1.2V compared to the low-voltage rectifier (in a bridge configuration).

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The higher-voltage rectifying diodes typically have a higher forward voltage drop than a low-voltage rectifier. If the forward voltage drop of the 400V rectifier is 1.3V, your DC output will drop about 1.2V compared to the low-voltage rectifier (in a bridge configuration).