Rectenna

philm01

Joined Mar 22, 2014
Hello everyone,

I have a few RF engineering design questions and I am hoping that someone from the community would be able to assist me.

SO basically, I am designing a rectenna circuit to harvest power from a 2.4 GHz wifi signal. Currently, I have an AC source in series with a 50 ohm resistor to represent the Antenna (which I know that it is off but I am not sure how to properly model it) Attached is the pspice circuit that I am using (I am using the free student version). Please, feel free to download and simulate.

So I have been doing research and alof of the circuits have been using a single diode to rectify to DC. I therefore conclude that it is best to go that route because everyone else is doing this and this is my first time designing such a circuit. Plus, I thought that getting help would be "easy".

I do some simple simulations using a jave simulator and it shows that it should be acting like a half wave rectifier but according to my results, it is not. The waveform is still +- V. I emailed a few people and they said that I need to create a clamp circuit. I did and this works a little bit better but I am having a hard time impedance matching the circuit because once I do this, it kills the clamping circuit. Which, impedance matching the cirucit is a major component. So, my question is, how do I go about impedance matching it (if possible?)

Ultimaly, I have three questions:

1) With the diode (rectifier), how exactly do I impedance match it? There are at least 3 different parameters and multiple combinations, which one is the correct configuration?

2) I also have to impedance match the load but what do I impedance match it to? The rectifier or the antenna? Or do I need to make sure that the impedance of the load and antenna are impedance matched to the antenna's impedance?