Recommendations for vision system

t00t

Joined Jan 22, 2015
Dear All,
I am looking for a visual system to connect it to a PLC . Anyone with experience on using visual system has any recommendations ?

Thank You.

something like this ( for automation ):

yaskawa_motoman_motosight_2d_robot_vision_system_yaskawa_electric_s_pte_ltd2011_08_22_10_15.jpg

Last edited:

InspectorGadget

Joined Nov 5, 2010
I just did a vision system with OpenCV. Very powerful system, very easy to use for a good programmer and someone experienced with image analysis and segmentation. But djsfantasi is correct, you'd have to customize an interface between your target computer and the PLC.

If you're committed to an industrial PLC, something like the Cognex or SICK would be the way to go. I've had a lot of experience in computer vision, used the early Cognex machines and more primitive ones from Advanced Imaging (now defunct), but it was all back in the late 80's and early 90's. The good news is the equipment has matured for standardized functions like finding alignment targets or measuring features, and automation integration is easier if you use these integrated solutions (Cognex, SICK, etc.),

It's not cheap, but the high cost of the standard equipment offsets the high cost of developing custom applications.

Give a good description of your vision application -- what do you need it to do -- and maybe someone here with more recent experience can help you with specific recommendations.

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012

Give a good description of your vision application -- what do you need it to do -- and maybe someone here with more recent experience can help you with specific recommendations.
He is apparently sorting buckets of dirty bolts with an undetermined number of bolt types, sizes, thread pitch and grade. Also unspecified is the amount if dirt on each bolt.
http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/threads/automated-bolt-separator.116124/