Recommend an mc for adc data acquisition?

gowan

Joined Aug 29, 2010
I've noticed a lot of free software for analyzing seismic signals. So I thought that I'd make 8 geophones out of speakers(coil and magnet), hit a metal plate on the ground with a sledgehammer thereby triggering an interrupt, and record the reflected seismic waves as detected by the geophones as a voltage change.
I'm new to microcontrollers. I've been messing around with VMLab, programming for various ATMEL chips, but the ATSK600 is too pricey for me right now. And all I need is:
battery powered to operate in the field.
read 8 channels, each about 20 times/second, preserving the timing from the interrupt.
save the data, maybe on a flash drive attached to a USB port.
and all for less than five bucks!
Thanks

gowan

Joined Aug 29, 2010
So the "less than five bucks" was a joke if that's why I havn't received any replies.
I would have included this in the post by editing it but I couldn't find the "edit" button that was described in the faq that I looked at to see how to edit a post.

gowan

Joined Aug 29, 2010
Thanks for your reply. What you suggest looks like it would work nicely.
I've never used PIC's.
I have a couple of questions.
the solution that you suggested looks like it includes a hardware device for burning the program.
Would installing a bootloader like AN1310 mean that I don't have to have a hardware program burner?
Should I get the hardware progrm burner anyway?

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
Hello,
Did you have a look at the pickit?
I got this one from Farnell:
But have you taken it out of package yet:p. Just joking! But the PICKIT 2 on the end of its life cycle. If you have the money I will recommend a PICKIT 3. And the 16f690 do not support debugging directly from PICKIT 2
So the "less than five bucks" was a joke if that's why I havn't received any replies.