recommend a pic kit for beginner

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
Hi guys

Recently I want to learn PIC, so I'm hoping to get a pic starter kit over my school holiday to play around. I'm looking for a programmer, debugger, and a development board sort of combination.

I have my eyes on pic starter kit 2
http://www.microchipdirect.com/productsearch.aspx?Keywords=DV164120

But I'm not sure as I know nothing about PIC, so what do you guys think?

I'm an electronics student and have play around with a few avr 8 bit MCU in C and C++, learned Motorola 68hc11in assembly at school.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
That is an excellent starting point. You will learn the basics to use PICs: sensing buttons or a potentiometer, driving LEDs, and how to write the code, get it into the device and perhaps how to use the PICkit as a debugger.

I have both the PICkit 2 and 3 (also an ICD3) and prefer the PICkit 2 as it seems faster to me, and I like being able to use a stand along program (outside of MPLAB) to run it at times. But the difference is minor and the PICkit 3 does every device.

Other thoughts from the sticky: http://forum.allaboutcircuits.com/showpost.php?p=503555&postcount=33

Jungle Jim

Joined Oct 20, 2012
The Pickit 2 is an ideal starter kit. I bought one with no prior knowledge of PIC's. Three months later I had incorporated 2 pic's on a single pcb in a label applicator controller that read BCD thumbwheels to determine timing loops, read various inputs and controlled pneumatic valves via transistor drivers.

I have a new project coming up where I need to drive stepper motors and I will be using the kit again for the development work.

bug13

Joined Feb 13, 2012
Thanks for the advice!

There is one thing I noticed from the PICkit2 and PICkit3 info pages, PIC don't seen to have a C++ complied, and I did some googling, I found no c++ complier for PIC.

My main interest is using PIC with C, but it would be nice to know if there is a C++ complier available for PIC.