Recommend a digital storage scope

cowasaki

Joined Apr 3, 2011
Hello everyone,

I have been out of the electronics game for probably 15 years but did an A level in electronics systems about 20 years ago and eventually ended up running the design and repair section of Orion Computers in Lancashire in my early 20's (Acorn premier dealer) where I was a component level service engineer on the Archimedes (ARM chips :)) and 8 bit BBC computers.

Anyway I have just got back into it with a project I am quite enjoying and have dug out all my old kit. What I am looking for now are a few bits of kit that I no longer have. One of these is a better oscilliscope. I suppose I could get along with my current one but I just want a better one :)

Anyway what I want is something like the one I used to use back then. I had a Fluke 100MHz digital scope which cost a couple of grand. I loved the way you could attach a probe to a point of a circuit and just press the magic button :) !!

Anyway I've looked on Ebay and I don't even recognise most of the makes that are listed now. I've seen Tektronics (which I recognise) and Hitachis (I have a VT212) but there are lots of other makes I haven't seen before.

So with a budget of maybe £600-800 what would people suggest. I am also after a new bench power supply with a budget of £100.

Last edited:

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
I'd stick with a Tektronix if you can find a decent one in that price range.

I still use analog scopes, I just like them better. My mainstay is a Tektronix 2465. Although only rated for 300 or 400 ? MHz it will easily display waveforms u to around 1 GHz, it just wouldn't be in total calibration that far out.

A good source for used equipment is http://www.techrecovery.com

They don't list everything they have online, they may often have some older items or some that are missing a few knobs in their back room so it's best to call them and chat a bit. They will also have power supplies.