Real novice question

Shanes_world_05

Joined Nov 15, 2013
Hi guys,

I am a mechanical engineer so my electrical knowledge is very poor so apologies straight of the bat.

I have been tasked to make up some components for an electrical device for a client. Its a long story but basically they want to be able to attach to a live circuit (NZ - 240 Volts 50 HZ) and via this device power other devices from typical household TPS cable. 1.0mm^2, 1.5mm^2 and 2.5mm^2 three core cable are the specified cables.

Problem is that we can't shut off the mains power, the sheath can't be peeled back so that means you don't know which conductor is facing you on the left or the right.

So my questions are:
What happens if the main circuit (being hacked into) supplies active/phase/line current into an attached electronic device's neutral line?
Are there any electronic or electrical devices/components that can be incorporated to guard against this like an RCD guards against current overload or seepage?

Ihave comlpeted most of my requirements for this project and it is supposed to be handed off to a proper electrical engineer to fix this up but I don't know when this will be (could be years) so wanted to give the project a head start on that. Also just curious (and its been my baby for 9 months).

Any help appreciated. Again apologies for such a weird bunch of questions

Cheers

Shane

inwo

Joined Nov 7, 2013
Need some clarification of terms.
Much different in US.

In US terms I'm thinking you want to tap into live romex.
Romex or type nm is nonmetalic sheathed cable.
Is that what TPS is? thermoplastic insulated cable?

2 conductors and a ground?

2 conductors carrying the load one of which (neutral) is grounded?

If those assumptions are correct, most devices, from an operational point of view, don't care if polarity is reversed or which conductor is grounded.

Devices are only approved for a certain polarity however. I'm not addressing safety issues.