Re-Hashing Auto-Fan

IDSkoT

Joined Sep 2, 2010
Hey, guys. I'm a new Electrical Engineer guy. I wanted to build a quick easy project that would be useful, so I figured I'd make a Auto-Fan with a thermistor. I found a schematic online, which lead me to this sight. And, I want to understand what exactly happens, so I was wondering if I could just explain my current knowledge, and see what's right / wrong / Needs some tweaking.

From my current knowledge, I understand that the non-inverting input (Pin 3) gets about 1.28mA. I'm not really sure the exact range of amperage the Inverting input receives because I'm not sure if this is a NTC or PTC.

From what I've gathered from hopefully my correct logic, is that the inverting input switches the voltage 180°, thus creating a negative voltage. So, if resistance goes down, the negative voltage goes up, and thus the output goes down, and vice versa.

What I couldn't find / figure out, is the voltage required to switch the transistor. I have the datasheet open, but I can't seem to figure it out.
Something tells me that it has to do with the output? But I'm not really sure. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
In general, van Roon's circuits are shaky at best. Using a 741 op amp as a voltage comparator is not going to work. Beside the fact that the 741 is a 40 year old design, it is intended to work with supply rails of +/- 15 volts. It is not characterized to run with a single supply and it is not ever going to make an effective voltage comparator.

The circuit should have something like an LM311 (also very old, but good enough for this application) substituted for the 741. It has an open collector output, so the drive to the relay driver will need to be rejiggered.

With respect to your question about the transistor, it will take about 1/10 the collector current into the base for saturated switching. Look at the relay specs and adjust resistor values accordingly.

DonQ