RC Model on-board regulator help please

machasm

Joined Oct 21, 2010
Hi all,
I am new to the scene here and have only a rudimentary knowledge of electronics.
I am in need of a design for a power regulator to satisfy the following requirements
1) Is fed from 1 or 2 input voltage sources of Li-Po 2S batteries (fully charged at 8.4V, discharged at 6.4V). So must have protection so as not to back charge either battery if 2 are used.
2) Have a fixed 5V output capable of delivering up to 5A
3) Have another output switchable between a) 5V b) 6V c) input voltage (bypass) and capable of up to 10A
4) Have another output at 1.3V rated at 3A and having a momentary push switch so that this output is activated for 15 seconds (Used to power a glow plug on the model)
5) Have LED voltage indicators of battery levels
6) Have High visibilty LED illuminate when voltage on either pack drops below 6.4V

I was looking a linear regulators but some of the loads means dissapating a lot of heat and also means that batteries don't last as long as I would like. Would prefer to use a switching reg if possible but if its simpler to go with a linear reg then fine.
Any help much appreciated.
I have attached a pic (Very basic!)

Attachments

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Switching is the way to go. Have you talked to the engineers at Castle Creations? You can get into problems with receiver interference, depending on what you are using for a receiver.

Second suggestion, using diodes for dual batteries is done, but has some drawbacks too. Have you considered having a slightly more complicated management system that uses one battery, then switches to the other battery, but does not switch back?

Do you want off the shelf suggestions or do you want to design it ground up? What are your weight and space limitations?

John

machasm

Joined Oct 21, 2010
Thanks for your quick reply John.