RC / CR Circuits

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by conquer_confusion, Jan 19, 2010.

1. conquer_confusion

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 19, 2010
    Im very new to this electronics game and i've found this site's resources very helpful (better than most books i've found actually), but i'm still struggling to get my head round some very basic concepts i believe.

I have conducted an experiment for an assignment observing how RC and CR circuits can act as low pass and high pass filters. The results confirm that they do of course.

Im stuck on the how, and it relates to a general difficulty im having understanding AC current and voltage, and capacitors mainly. I would really appreciate it if someone could answer some questions for me because reading has not really cleared it up and just introduced more ideas before im ready for them.

Here's what i think i know (which is very little :() and I could be woefully mistaken on much of it, but here goes: A capacitor stores charge and also therefore energy / voltage by an accumulation of electrons on one of its plates or both alternately given an AC power supply, the essential reason for their characteristic of blocking DC and passing AC (?)

In an RC circuit with a DC supply (for starters) the values of the resistor and capacitor determine how long the capacitor will take to charge. This becomes exponentially slower because as there is a build up of charge on a capacitor plate (the one closest to the negative terminal?) and the voltage drop across the capacitor increases, simulataneously the current through the resistor decreases therefore so does the voltage (V=IR) which is supplying the charge to the capacitor (?).