Randomizer Unit?

IwishIwasAlecky

Joined Sep 29, 2009
Hey guys,

Hoping someone out there might be able to come up with a solution to a problem I've been thinking about. Been straining the brain for a couple days over it lol. I'm an electrical apprentice, but don't have much to do with electronics...

But anyway, the problem: Having a house-warming party in 2 months or so (just want to get an early start on my project) and have decided on a drinking game involving a few different coloured lights. (240V power circuit lights - in Australia). Now I'm just wondering if there is any way that I can get these lights to come on in a random pattern, or if it would be easier to set a pattern myself that appears random?

The setup that I'm wanting to go with sounds something like this:
1. Fluro lights around the backyard for the main lighting
2. Every 10mins or so the fluro's switch off, and red flashing lights set up around the yard come on for roughly 10sec or so
3. Flashing lights turn off leaving a period of darkness for 2sec or so and then...
4. One of 4 pre-selected light colours (green, orange, red, or yellow) randomly turns on.
5. Circuit repeats

I have access to relays and timer relays, so I was just going to hard wire the circuit to a switchboard, I know there are probably easier ways to do this, but hey, I've got to fill in time somehow at work lol.

Any suggestions muchly appreciated.

Cheers

tibbles

Joined Jun 27, 2008
hi there sounds like fun, i once did something like this myself. the simplest and cheapest is probably a 555 followed by an opto isolator then triac or relay for each channel.
but in the interests of safety and simplicity have a look at something like this
http://www.quasarelectronics.com/ci0218.htm
a bit expensivethis one. but my home built one including case, transformer, fuses and plugs and socketsetc cost over£70
regards
dougal

RiJoRI

Joined Aug 15, 2007