Random LED fade on/off

offsky

Joined Dec 16, 2012
I need some help with a circuit. Im trying to make a circuit that will fade in and then fade out an LED, and then stay off for several seconds before repeating. I'm essentially making a fancy LED Throwie that blinks intermittently with a fade.

I thought of starting with a solar engine (http://www.beam-online.com/Robots/Circuits/1381.html) which I should be able to tune to get the intermittent blinking, but I can't figure out how to modify this to make the LED fade in/out. I need the circuit to be small and cheap, so Id like to avoid using any sort of programmable logic.

Any ideas would be appreciated. I'm not very good at electronics.

Sensacell

Joined Jun 19, 2012
Hmmm.

Digital / Programmable = Cheap and small

Analog = large complex circuit.

If you are building a Throwie, the analog version will be more like a Brickie.

Consider the PIC10F series micro-controller, tiny 6 pin device can do it all.

offsky

Joined Dec 16, 2012
Thanks for the feedback. You may be right, but building dozens of these, I think it would be easier/quicker to use a dozen analog components than to have to program an IC. For me that would involve getting a lot of equipment and learning how to program an IC, which is more time that I want to invest. I know how to solder and am ok with the extra bulk of extra analog components. Can any recommend a circuit for this?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
The part that makes it difficult is the randomness, this is not a usual feature of analog. Fading is easy.

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

Chaper 12 - Special Effects

With digital you have memory, Sensacell is right, if you are serious about this project a small programmable device is the way to go. It will be much, much cheaper, smaller. The hard work is in the programming.

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012