Radiogram Power Supply

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
I'm having problems with this old power supply giving out the wrong voltages. I was asked to try and fix it by a friend but I have no experience of these radiograms at all and I'm hoping I can get some help with it here ? It seems that I can only upload one file at a time,Ive uploaded a photo so I will post another post Astor Power Supply.jpg Astor Power Supply.jpg with the schematic. I have replaced the 2 x 1000uf electrolytics and 2 x poly caps 1 x 223k and 1 x 274j greencap,otherwise I haven't changed anything. Obviously their is something wrong but I just cant see it? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
Here is the schematic.The radio is getting 9.6v instead of 14.5v? and the driver boards are getting 24.7v instead of 22v? The tone boards are pretty well good.Astor PS.png Astor PS.png Astor PS.png

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
Hi Dodgy,Sorry for the late reply,I didn't tick the email alert? Duh! Anyway I desoldered the radio power line wire from the RF board 44 at point J Pos, it read 24.7vdc and then I measured from the switch 73 it read 24.7vdc? Does that sound right to you?

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014
That pretty much says the RF board is using too much current.
Ive just finished replacing all the out of spec resistors on the RF board and Ive found one of the three AT319 IF amplifier transistors is no good it reads 850 from base to collector and 850 from base to emitter,otherwise everything else looks OK but its still measures 9volts? I wouldn't have thought that a bad transistor would cause the voltage to drop like this. I tried to upload some photos but I couldn't for some reason?I clicked the upload a file button a few times and it didn't work.

redrooster01

Joined Jul 15, 2014