Race Management system (RMS)....

Meccano

Joined Aug 20, 2010
Hi all,

I'm new here and I would first like to thank you all for this great forum.

I'm a model hobbyist (cars, planes, trains, you name it....) and I'm trying to build a race management system for my HO car racetrack. :)

I surfed the net for quite some time and found many very interesting information.
I now need experts like you guys to check what I found and tell me if I'm on the right track or not.

I have a RMS software running on an old PC under DOS. It traps the events through the printer port (LPT) and different pins for different events (as some of you may already know).

What I would like to do (for a start...) is :

- Lap counting
- Lap Timing
- "Refuelling" procedure

I found this schematic on the net and I think it's exactly what I need to build

A few comments on the diagram:

Let's consider the drawing and assume that S1 and S2 are on the same lane :

- S1 is a N.O REED switch that detects the pit entry event when "refuelling" is required.
- S2 is a N.O "inverter" REED switch that can signal 2 events (from what I was told...): Pit exit (in the refuelling procedure) and lap counting and timing (on every lap).

Now the questions:

- Do you think such a circuit is what I need for my project ?
- If so, are the component values (resistor,...) OK for a computer printer port (I will have resistance values soon as I need to buy some more equipment - mostly resistors - to test my port "trigger point" without blowing it) ?
On the various sites I checked, resistance should be at least 500 to 1K.

- If not, could you point me to another circuit for my project (I'm sure at least one of your circuits apply to my needs :D ) ?

I hope I haven't forgotten anything...

Thank you all for your time and support.

Regards,

Attachments

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010