"Quote message in reply?" ???

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by WBahn, Jun 17, 2013.

  1. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    I just noticed that the Quick Reply box has a checkbox 'Option" that says, "Quote message in reply?"

    Yet it is not enabled and I haven't been able to gleen any hints as to what it does or is supposed to do.

    If I haven't chosen to quote a post, then is this supposed to automatically quote the last post in the thread? Seems a bit dangerous given how many times additional posts are added between the time you start a Reply and the time you actually submit it>

    Is it supposed to suppress the body of the quoted message and just retain the header information? If so, then how do you utilitze it? Whenever I choose to quote a post I get taken immediately to the Advanced posting page and not the Quick Reply box.

    I'm assuming that I can't use it because of some configuration option I have chosen, but none seem obvious candidates.

    Does anyone have this checkbox enabled? If so, can you tell exactly what it does?

    Thanks!
     
  2. DerStrom8

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2011
    2,428
    1,328
    Mine doesn't seem to be doing anything, it's just sitting there and won't let me enable it.

    Very interesting.....
     
  3. DerStrom8

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2011
    2,428
    1,328
    Ok, I clicked the "quick reply" button at the bottom right of my last post and it's letting me enable it. I just checked the box, so let's see if it quotes my message automatically....
     
  4. DerStrom8

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2011
    2,428
    1,328
    It did indeed. So in order to enable it you have to click the "quick reply" button on the post itself, then it will quote it. It's a pain though, it doesn't reset automatically....
     
  5. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    So let's see what it does if you select the "Quick Reply" icon in a post and don't choose to include text....
     
  6. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    And the answer is .... nothing! So what's the point. If you don't want to include any quoted text, then why hit the "Quick Reply" button on a post since the Quick Reply box is at the bottom of the page any way. If you do want to include any quoted text, then why not hit the "Quote" button to begin with?

    Strange.

    I could see a useful purpose if hitting the "Quick Reply" button just inserted a link to the post being replying to and the name of the poster (and perhaps a post number) and then choosing the "Include message in Reply" would result in including the entire post being replied to. But as it is, once you hit "Quick Reply" in a post, there doesn't even seem to be anyway of knowing which post it was that you are replying to, at least until after you post it (or possibly choose Go Advanced -- I'll check that out next).
     
    DerStrom8 likes this.
  7. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    So, if you hit "Quick Reply" and select the "Include message in reply?" box and then choose Go Advanced, it DOES include the quoted text in the advanced Reply to Thread dialog box. I supposed that's good and reassuring.
     
  8. DerStrom8

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2011
    2,428
    1,328
    I never use that box anyway, it doesn't do anything you can't do by just hitting the "quote" button. Seems rather useless to me....
     
  9. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    I agree. It COULD be made to do something somewhat useful, but as it stands it doesn't. But at least now I know what it does (and doesn't) do.
     
  10. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    The use of the multiple quotes is indeed cryptic. This is how I use the system:

    I hit the "Multi-Quote Message" button ([​IMG]) in every post I want to include in my reply.
    Then I hit the "Quote" button ([​IMG]) in the last post I have multi-quoted.
    The advanced message editor appears with all the selected messages quoted separately.

    You can multi-quote messages spanning in more than one pages.

    Give it a try.
     
  11. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    I've used the Multi-Quote several times. I can never remember what order the quotes material will be placed, so I just accept that I will probably have to rearrange.

    But here we were talking not about Multi-Quote, but about the "Quick Reply" and its interaction with the "Quote message in reply" checkbox.
     
  12. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    I think the intention of the tick-box was to interact with the posts set as multi-qotes, thus I gave a more functional way to do that.

    I don't think it serves another purpose.
     
  13. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    Hmmm....

    But the tick-box only appears in the Quick Reply dialog and, I think, the multi-quotes always takes you to the full Reply to Thread box that doesn't have that tick-box (that I know of).

    As near as I can tell, the only time it is enabled is if you hit the "Quick Reply" button (the one next to the Multi-Quote) button.

    Curiouser and curiouser.
     
  14. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    Test post.
     
  15. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    So, in post #14 I multi-quoted post #13 and hit the "Quick Reply" button on post #11. Then I checked the tickbox.

    I guess that solves our question and proves me wrong.

    Was there anything else?
     
  16. WBahn

    Thread Starter Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,715
    4,788
    Useful test.

    So the consensus seems to be that the "Quick Reply" and the tick-box perform no useful purpose (or at least no purpose that isn't better served by other means).

    Good to know, though I wonder why it is set up this way. Very possibly it is legacy code that predated the "Quote" button.
     
  17. Georacer

    Moderator

    Nov 25, 2009
    5,142
    1,266
    Possibly. Or it could serve the mundane purpose of you not having to scroll all the way down to write a Quick Reply.
     
Loading...