Questions about SPI ...

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by AKdaBAOUS, Nov 18, 2013.

1. AKdaBAOUS

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 18, 2013
    Dear Forum Members,

As you can see, I'm new to the forum so I apologise in advance if I have posted in the wrong section.

I just wanted to have a few things clarified about SPI - but first, a bit of backstory/project info ...

I'm a University student and I've taken a turn from my Robotics hobby to work more on strengthening my Electronics/Programming skills so I decided to start work on a project that I had in mind which involves (for starters) interfacing a TFT LCD display with a basic ARM Cortex-M3 processor (the LPC1343 from NXP to be more specific). Communication would be via SPI. I've had some experience playing around with displays from Adafruit with my Arduino Uno but that's about the extent of it. :/

So onto my question - I've been reading a lot about pull-up/pull-down resistors on the data lines with some people saying they need them and some saying they don't bother with them. I believe the general consensus is that they're required on the Slave Select pins but as for the rest, I'm clueless. :(
    I'd assume for a single device, it wouldn't matter that much however I would at some point like to 'hook up' other devices (uSD card, etc.) and I'm guessing this would change the situation?

Would someone mind giving me a quick breakdown on this whole scenario or would it just be easier for me to add the resistors on the board but only populate them if required? :confused:

I've attached the datasheets for both the processor and display if they can help in any way.

Thanks in advance! :)

Regards,
    AKdaBAOUS

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    SPI (Serial Peripheral Interface) consists of four signals plus GND.

MOSI - Master Out Slave In
    MISO - Master In Slave Out
    SCLK - Serial Clock
    SS - Slave Select (active LOW)