Questions about a Vintage Stancor Transformer

MicroMike

Joined Sep 30, 2012
Greetings all.

I've recently come across a Stancor transformer that seems quite old. Old enough that it has braided cloth insulators on the wires. It seems to have acquired a coat of black enamel at some point in its history so I have none of the usual labeling to work from. It has the brand name and a pair of numbers stamped into the casing but neither number has gotten me anywhere in terms of searching for specs so I assume they're a serial number and a date code or the like.

I'm looking to test the output voltages but I've little experience with iron core transformers as I've mostly dealt with switching supplies in the past but from what I understand the smaller wires with higher resistance measurements are typically the primaries. The bit I don't understand here is there's an odd number of wires, 11 to be exact, all of them in colored pairs save one. There's a pair of orange wires that read around 180Ω (Highest reading on any pair) but next to them is the odd man out, an orange and yellow striped one that reads around 90Ω when paired with either of the orange wires. I assume this is for the purpose of having both 115v and 230v inputs. The questions are, which is which? and can I do any damage hooking the wrong pair to 115vac line power?

Thanks in advance for any help.

-Mike Bilan

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
What are the codes? If it starts with 138 then that's the STANCOR EIA code

http://www.preservationsound.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/Stancor_1937_Transformer_Specs.pdf