question on solenoid for co2 dispensing

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by tony8404, Dec 29, 2009.

1. tony8404

Thread Starter Active Member

Jun 11, 2008
    Hello guys, I have a situation where i am strapped for cash but i need a solution to my problem and the only way, i can see me getting through this, is by doing it myself.

I am still learning electronics so I am not sure how easy or if this is even possible but i am not far enough to do this all by myself i believe.

Okay, what it is I am trying to accomplish, is this, I make my own beer. I have taken one of those small refrigerators and turned it into a dispensor, I can place two 5 gallon cylinder kegs into it. I bought a two way tap that you install into the frig, there are two hoses that connect to the cylinder that then connect to the double tap. Well, to keep the kegs pressurized I use a co2 tank that connects into the frig into the hoses to dispense the co2 or to keep the cylinders charged with co2.

Well, what i wanted to do was make the co2 system dispense itself. They sell a regulator with a solenoid and bubble counter so you can put the solenoid on a timer to dispense co2 on a timely matter. Except i already have the regulator and the co2 tank, so buying a whole system is out the question. So is just buying a co2 solenoid because the cheapest one i can find is like 60 dollars.

I had found a site on google that you can make your own diy co2 dispensor but it requires a piece of equipment that is like 100 bucks, if i am lucky to find one for 50. Except i do not have the money, so this is why i am here now.