[Question] Is LTSpice enough for circuit simulation?

Henrique Orlandini

Joined Dec 23, 2015
I've been using LTSpice and Micro Cap 11 for circuit simulations for a short time, I'm still learning some things, mostly on simulation settings. My focus is photovoltaic cells, which are simple circuits (but it took me a while to simulate them).

My professor told be about ADS (Advanced Design System), a Keysight software that is (very) expensive and, by his words, the best to simulate circuits, yet better at simulating at high frequency. I knew ADS as a T-CAD software, which should model and simulate semiconductor devices, and not as a circuit simulator. It's quite hard to learn how to use this software, because I don't have ways to use it at home, and coming to university everytime just to do tutorials is quite... unpractical.

Ok, when I (and if I ever) start modeling semiconductor devices, ADS is a no brainer. But for circuit simulation, do you think that LTSpice and/or Micro Cap 11 are enough or I should really start messing with ADS? I choose these two because they're free (I'm from Brazil, so spending even US$60 on softwares is quite expensive) and have a good fame on electronics community, but I'm afraid that I'm losing something ignoring ADS for now.

Thanks in advance,

Henrique.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
What is your experience level?

Simulators have their place, but you should understand the basics well before using one. I recently started learning LTSpice because many people post .asc files; and I wanted to find out what all of the fuss was about. What I learned is that LTSpice doesn't do things the way you might think it would. Without some effort on your part, you won't get a realistic simulation. If you understand the basics, you can sanity check the simulation. If you assume a "good" simulation run means the circuit will work, you're in for a rude surprise.