Question / Help - XY Plot of a Level detector

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Dieverse, Sep 29, 2016.

1. Dieverse

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 22, 2016
    I am a student, and I am into my 2nd week of studying Op Amps. Yesterday we had our 1st lab and we briefly used XY Mode on the Oscilloscope for the first time and I am kinda unsure if I totally understand how XY Mode is displaying info........We now have an assignment and we have to draw the XY Plot for a level detector. Vin is 18 VPP the non inverting terminal is 5V and my power supply +/- 10 and thats basically all the info given..So I dont really understand what to draw???... Ive been searching google for a few days trying to find some info to help me, but cant really find what Im looking for....

2. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    MOD NOTE: Moved to Homework Help

3. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    The X-Y mode on a 'scope plots a graph of the two input signals, one against the other. so if the X input is the voltage across, say, a diode and the Y input is the current through it, then the 'scope will display the voltage/current relationship of the diode.

You are asked to draw the X-Y plot of a level detector. I presume that means draw a circuit which would display the plot on a 'scope.
    One of the signals to plot is the output of the level detector but I don't understand what the other input is.

4. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    The other input to the scope is the input to the level detector. The problem very clearly shows that Vout is the y-input and Vin is the x-input. Vin is also clearly shown as the signal at the inverting input of the opamp and Vout is clearly shown as the signal at the output of the opamp.

5. AlbertHall

Jun 4, 2014
    So the op-amp circuit is the level detector, is that right?

6. WBahn

Mar 31, 2012
    Yep. Notice the wording of the problem: "... for the following level detector."