question for the seasoned

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by fredric58, Dec 9, 2014.

1. fredric58

Thread Starter Member

Nov 28, 2014
    Hi, I am new to electronics, I am also ADDICTED! It is so cool. Here's the deal.....I can read a schematic, I know what the components are, and individually, I have a good idea of what they do. How they "party" together is a different story and why I am here to LEARN. My project is a dark sensor switch that will activate a 9v circuit AND POWER IT. (that's important)

I have studied OP AMPS and COMPARATORS, PHOTO TRANSISTORS, PULL UPs, RELAYS, VOLTAGE REGULATORS, POSITIVE FEEEDBACK and pretty much anything to do with this circuit. I have come close, but have yet to succeed. In ALL the tutorials the only thing ever powered is an LED. And I can build such a circuit. BUT!!!

What I WANT to build is:
    1. a dark activated switch. ? (WHICH photo sensor is BEST? there are different kinds....)
    2. powered by 12v (a car battery)
    3. There is a converter, which converts 12v to to 5v to run the SWITCH circuit, (BECAUSE..... that's the only circuit I am familiar with) BUT!!!!!!! I NEED.... 9V OUT PUT from the ORIGINAL 12 volts. OK? Not to power an LED. There are tons of these circuits on youtube........
    4. It has to be an ON, or OFF switch (and have a hysteresis region) NO HUNTING.
    5. When it is "ON"... it must deliver 9 VOLTS, (from the original 12 v) to ANOTHER circuit.

I am hoping that someone might know how to do this. I can "almost" do this, But like I said all the tutorials only power an LED. 2-3 (+-) volts. and I need 9v. A steady 9v..... Thanks to anyone who may respond and who may be able to help. Your input is GREATLY appreciated.

NOT sure if I created the thread correctly, if not, let me know.

2. Papabravo

Expert

Feb 24, 2006
  3. fredric58

Thread Starter Member

Nov 28, 2014