Question about voltage, lethal current, skin resistance

kevin0228ca

Joined Jun 5, 2015
I am new to electrical engineering and have some basic questions.

We know current is responsible for fatality.
100 - 200 mA is lethal, while >10mA could damage.
Suppose we have a 12V battery circuit loop with a 100 ohm resistor, current is 12/100 = 120 mA
but when we put ourself in loop we wont get shocked, right?

Is that because that our skin resistance will be take into account in that situation?
so current would be 12V / (100 + whatever skin resistance) = less than 120 mA?

If that is the case, how do we know a circuit or current source is safe to touch?
because current will decrease when we touch?
and how do we ensure a stable < 10 mA current source regardless of human skin resistance?

Please can anyone answer these questions.
Thank you.

takao21203

Joined Apr 28, 2012
upto 100 volts normally are harmless but limits are 48v/60v

there is always worst case:

wet concrete, barefoot, left hand + locking grip after touch.
That could kill you at 100 volts.

There are some rules:

Avoid wet equipment, concrete floors by all means
Never use the left hand
Use a neon lamp checker, if it lights up the voltage is dangerous

Or as for OP: If you cant apply common sense no circuit is safe to touch, best, dont deal with electricity.
Only circuits approved for educational + safety tested are good for you in this case.

The NEMA book and so on are just a guideline, by no means exhaustive.

There isnt really such a thing such as 10mA supply no matter what, human touch can be close to 1 M Ohms and as low as 1 K Ohm under some conditions.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010