Question about transformers

Racketman333

Joined Sep 7, 2012
hi All
I'm new to electronics and have a general question about transformers - would really appreciate a little assistance.

ok, so I understand that transformers can be used to step up voltage (and with this comes an accompanying step down in current). That figures and I can see how that works with Ohms law if resistance is theoretically consistent on both sides.

What I don't really understand probably stems from my lack of understanding of the concept of voltage. If voltage drives the current in a wire, when the voltage is stepped up, why doesn't it induce an accompanying increase in current flow? OK, so I also appreciate this is a physical impossibility as you would have gained some power and broken a fairly fundamental principle...i just don't quite get that a voltage can be high and current low if resistance stays the same.

The only analogy I could think that would clarify this for me was that the primary voltage might be akin to a motorbike pulling current along (fast but light push), and the secondary voltage becomes more like a bulldozer (slower but much stronger than the bike).

Am I on the right track, or am I missing something very basic?!

thanks in advance for any help here!

shubham161

Joined Jul 22, 2012
energy can neither be created nor be destroyed.

btw, resistance don't stay the same. for step up, more winding is needed and so more resistance is there is the secondary winding. I am not sure though.

cabraham

Joined Oct 29, 2011
hi All
I'm new to electronics and have a general question about transformers - would really appreciate a little assistance.

ok, so I understand that transformers can be used to step up voltage (and with this comes an accompanying step down in current). That figures and I can see how that works with Ohms law if resistance is theoretically consistent on both sides.