Question about planning out your power source.

blake11

Joined Feb 20, 2010
I am new to the world of electronics, and I was wondering if any of you guys could help me by looking over a project that I am currently working on. I have all the individual pieces planned out, but I want to make sure I am going about this the most efficient way as possible.

The project is going to involve an Arduino Duemilanove, 20 80mA LEDs, 20 20mA LEDs, and 20 QRB1114 Sensor/Emitters.

There will be 20 individual modules consisting of 1 80mA LED, 1 20mA LED, and 1 QRB1114.

I guess my question is, what is the best way to get all these things power?

Here is a layout that I drew up. Please hold back on the mocking of my drawing. I just downloaded EAGLE for the first time, and I really don’t know what I’m doing.

Please do not pay attention to the part numbers on the drawing. Like I said, I am new to EAGLE, and I am not sure how to find all the correct parts at the moment.

The 3 open ended lines are going to my going to my LED driver and Arduino.
I thought this would be the best way to keep all the wiring down to a minimum.

Does this look ok? I was planning on running all the vcc and ground lines to a central bus, I guess you would call it.

Are using the transistors a good idea? I thought of using those so I am not trying to power all the lights off 3 16bit LED drivers.

And the last question... How to calculate the power source for such a project? I'm not asking anyone to do it, just wondering what things I should be looking for. I was hoping to have everything running off my 5v Arduino with the source coming from the wall.

Any and all comments are welcome. Thanks in advance for any feedback.

blake11

Joined Feb 20, 2010
The schematic above is that of just a single module. there will be 20 in total.