question about ground readings

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by clarkk, Jul 18, 2013.

1. clarkk

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 18, 2013
    Sorry the title is worthless, i got an error every time so i kept making it smaller. So i am new to this and i and have confused myself. When testing voltage the multimeter reports the difference in voltage between the two points you test. So if i put the red probe on the positive terminal and then the black probe on the point where the negative cable connects to the ground i get a reading of 12.6. So to me this means the pos terminal holds 12.6V and the ground is 0 and the meter reads 12.6V because that is the difference between the two. So i reason that this does not necessarily mean that these two points are connected in a circuit because the meter doesnt know if they are in the same circuit it is just measuring the difference in voltage between the two points. So if this is true i could test between the pos terminal and a ground on a seperate circuit and it should give the same reading. But it didnt - i got a jumpy reading of 3.5 or something. Is my logic wrong?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 18, 2013
  2. LDC3

Apr 27, 2013
    There must be a continuous path from one lead to the other lead to get a valid reading. When you connected the read lead on the positive terminal and the black lead on the ground, there was a path from where you touched the ground to the negative terminal of the battery.

In the second case, unless the two grounds are connected, then the reading on the voltmeter is invalid.
  3. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    Ground is ground the world round, but not on vehicles.

Nov 30, 2010
    Strange as it might seem, two identical car batteries, well known for having zero and +12.6 volts each, have no knowledge of each other unless they are connected in some way. Each one is an ignorant little island of voltage with no reliable relationship to anything it is not explicitly connected to.